The City of Philip holds an annual election on the 2nd Tuesday in April. The election is combined with the Haakon County School District 27-01 election.

The mayor position is voted on at large and is a two year term (even numbered years). Council member positions are voted on by the registered voters in the ward and are a two-year term. The council positions in each ward alternate so that each year one of the terms expire.


  How do I register to vote?

The deadline for registration is 15 days before any election. Your registration card must be received by the Haakon County Auditor's Office by this deadline to vote in the next election. Registration cards post marked on the 15th day do not qualify as being received by the deadline.

You can register to vote if:
• You are a citizen of the United States
• You are 18 years of age or older on the next election day
• You are a resident of South Dakota
• You are not under a sentence of imprisonment for any felony conviction
• You have not been judged mentally incompetent by a court of law

You may register at any of the following locations:
• Haakon County Auditor's Office, 140 S. Howard Ave., 2nd Floor, Philip, SD
• On Line at the Secretary of State's Web Site at
• Voter Registration forms are available at City Office, 140 S. Howard Ave., 4th Flr, Philip, SD which will be sent to the Haakon County Auditor's Office

In addition, you may register to vote at locations which provide the following services:
• Driver's Licenses
• Food Stamps
• Aid to Families with Dependent Children
• Women, Infants, and Children Nutrition Program (WIC)
• Department of Human Services offices which provide assistance to the disabled
• Military Recruitment

For additional information call the Haakon County Auditor's Office at 605-859-2800 or visit the South Dakota Secretary of State website at:

 Where do I vote?

The City election is held in conjunction with the Haakon School District election. Voting takes place in the "old elementary gym" at the Philip School.

 Who should I contact with further questions?

City Finance Office (605) 859-2175

Haakon County Auditor (605) 859-2800

SD Secretary of State (605) 773-3537